Four former Cardinals, St. Charles natives with 2023 births are inducted into the Hall of Fame


NEW YORK — The 2023 Baseball Hall of Fame ballot will consist of four former Cardinals and a St. Charles native.


Third baseman Scott Rolen, center fielder Carlos Beltran, rookie pitcher John Lackey and shortstop Johnny Peralta are all on next year’s ballot, as well as Sox pitcher who grew up in St. Charles, Mark Buhrle.

Rolen has appeared on Hall of Fame ballots since 2018. He has passed the minimum number of votes (5%) to remain on the ballot for five consecutive years, although he has never crossed the 75% threshold for Hall of Fame induction,

Beltran, Lucky and Peralta, all Cardinals near the later stages of their careers in the 2000s, are all eligible first-time Hall players. Buehrle, who has never played for the Cardinals over 16 seasons but has one of the 21 perfect games in MLB history, is eligible for the second time.

MLB players with 10 years of service are eligible for the Hall of Fame five years after their retirement.

Beltran, Lucky and Peralta are among 14 newcomers on balloting for the Baseball Writers Association of America’s Hall of Fame. RA Dickey, Huston Street, Francisco Rodríguez, Bronson Arroyo and Matt Cain are also new to the ballot, joined by Jacoby Ellsbury, Jason Wirth, Mike Napoli, JJ Hardy, Jared Weaver and Andre Either, the Hall and BBWAA said Monday.

Award recipients include Scott Rollin, Todd Hilton, and Billy Wagner. Rolen received 249 of last year’s 394 votes (63.2%), when David Ortiz was elected with 307 votes (77.9%), 11 votes more than the required 75%. Helton received 205 ballots (52%) and Wagner 201 (51%).

For some voters, at least in Beltran’s case, that could turn into an assessment of the Houston Astros’ cheating scandal associated with his final season in 2017.

279 batting average, 435 home runs, 1,587 RBIs and 312 stolen bases for Kansas City, Houston, New York Mets, San Francisco, St. Louis, Yankees, and Texas. He was named manager of the Mets on November 1, 2019, and then fired on January 16 without managing a game, three days after being the only Astros player mentioned by name in a report by Major League Baseball regarding illegal use of the team. From electronics to signal stealing during the Houston race to the 2017 World Series.

In the past, many stars tainted by doping and scandals have been denied by voters.

Peralta played 15 seasons and hit 202 home runs, a 267 batting average and 873 RBI. A three-time All-Star, he last captured such honors with the Cardinals in 2015. Despite his accomplishments, he was suspended 50 games in 2013 due to a PED scandal that also led to former MVPs Alex Rodriguez and Ryan Brown being suspended. .

In connection with these considerations, Lackey has never been associated with any scandal. Lackey won Game 7 of the 2002 World Series for the Anaheim Angels as a starter, then added World Series titles with the 2013 Boston Red Sox and 2016 Chicago Cubs. He was 188-147 with a 3.92 ERA in 15 seasons and proved reliable in the post-season with an 8-6 record and 3.44 ERA.

Barry Bonds (260 votes, 66%), Roger Clemens (257, 65.2%) and Curt Schilling (231, 58.6%) were dropped after their 10th appearance in the ballot last year, and are among the eight players who will appear in the ballot. Hall’s Contemporary Baseball Era Committee, which meets December 4 in San Diego prior to the Baseball Winter Meetings.

Other BBWAA ballot recipients include Andrew Jones (163 votes last year, 41.1%), Gary Sheffield (160, 40.6%), Alex Rodriguez (135, 34.3%), Jeff Kent (129, 32.7%), Manny Ramirez (114 ), 28.9%), Omar Vizquel (94th, 23.9%), Andy Petty (42nd, 10.7%), Jimmy Rollins (37th, 9.4%), Bobby Abreu (34th, 8.6%), Mark Buhrle (23rd, 5.8%) Tori Hunter (21, 5.3%).

Kent, who received the highest percentage last year, will appear on the BBWAA ballot for the tenth and final time.

BBWAA members with 10 or more consecutive years of membership are eligible to vote. Ballots must be postmarked by Dec. 31 and results will be announced on Jan. 24.

Any player elected to the Hall will be inducted in Cooperstown on July 23 along with anyone elected by the Contemporary Baseball Era Committee.

%d bloggers like this: