Scott Rolen was elected to Cooperstown


The Baseball Writers Association of America (BBWAA) has announced the voting results for the 2023 National Baseball Hall of Fame, with Scott Rollin as the only player nominated for Cooperstown.


In his sixth year on the ballot, Rollin narrowly edged out the necessary cut-off margin of 75% by receiving 76.3% of the vote, a total of just five votes that secured his honor. Only once did Rolen receive 10.2% of the vote on his first ballot, making him the only player to receive such a low vote in his first year of eligibility to eventually earn election to the Hall.

Across 17 seasons in the major leagues between 1996-2012, Rollin is primarily remembered for being a key member of the St. Louis Cardinals, a team with which he captured the only World Series championship of his career in 2006.

Rolen finished his career with 2,077 total hits, 316 home runs, 1,287 RBI, and an amazing hitting streak of .281/.364/.490. A seven-time All-Star and 1997 National League Rookie of the Year, he also received eight Gold Glove awards.

Rollin broke into the Majors with the Philadelphia Phillies in his first full season in 1997. Rollin’s career is considered a consistent power hitter with flawless defense in the hot corner. He became only the thirteenth baseman to earn a nod for Cooperstown.

While he was influential with the Phillies, Rolen is remembered and certainly set to be enshrined in the Hall of Fame as a member of the Cardinals.

After finishing in the top five in NL MVP voting in 2004, the year saw him hit a . 314 batting average with 34 homers and 124 RBI. Just two years later, Rolen was a key member of leading the Cardinals to the 2006 World Series, finishing the season with a 0.96 batting average, 887 on-base plus slugging percentage and 48 doubles.

The closest to getting a ticket to Cooperstown besides Rollin was longtime Colorado Rockies outfielder Todd Helton, who needed only 11 votes. Hilton fell short with 72.2% of the vote.

A number of former Los Angeles Dodgers have been on the 2023 Hall of Fame ballot as well. Notably, both Gary Sheffield and Andrew Jones have seen their lineages rise.

For Sheffield in its ninth year on the poll, it has risen from 40.6% to 55%. Jones, in his sixth year on the polls, rose from 41.1% to 58.1%. The last time he was inducted into the Hall of Fame, 10-year-old Jeff Kent didn’t get enough votes, with 46.5%.

Despite being surrounded by PED allegations, Manny Ramirez saw his support grow from 28.9% to 33.2% in his seventh year on the ballot. Bobby Abreu’s vote grew to 15.4% in his fourth year, up from 8.6% last year.

In his second year on the ballot, Jimmy Rollins’ vote grew from 9.4% in his first year to 12.9% in his last vote.

Upon appearing on the Hall of Fame ballot for the first time, Andre Either, Bronson Arroyo, and Jayson Werth each received less than 5% of the votes counted, thus ending their eligibility in Cooperstown. Ethier and Wirth did not receive any votes.

Fred McGriff joins Scott Rollin in Hall of Fame induction

Gaining the necessary 75% of the vote by 16 members of the Contemporary Baseball Era Committee, former Dodgers first baseman Fred McGriff He will join Rolen this summer to be honored at Cooperstown. McGriff is the first to be elected through committee.

Known for his powerful bat and sure glove at first base, McGriff was a five-time All-Star and compiled 2,490 hits, with 493 home runs, and 1,550 RBI while playing for six different organizations.

Are you Following Dodger Blue on Instagram? It’s the best way to watch exclusive coverage of games and events, get your questions answered and more!

( function( d, s, id ) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName( s )[0];
if ( d.getElementById( id ) ) return;
js = d.createElement( s ); = id;
js.src = “//”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore( js, fjs );
}( document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’ ) );

%d bloggers like this: