The Mets elect 4 new members to the Hall of Fame


the New York Mets They add several new names to their Hall of Fame list.


And the club announced Wednesday about that player Howard Johnsonleft hand Boss Broadcasters Gary Cohen and Howie Rose will be inducted into the Mets Hall of Fame.

Ticket purchase: heelAnd Lively seatsAnd Travel TicketsAnd Ticket manager

On Saturday, June 3, there will be a pregame ceremony before the Mets’ game against the Toronto Blue Jays at Citi Field to honor the recruits. Jay Horowitz will also be honored with the Mets Hall of Fame Achievement Award.

Here’s more info via Mets PR:

“It was an honor to inform each of the four new members that they will be inducted into the Mets Hall of Fame,” said Steve Cohen, Mets owner, chairman and CEO. Howard Johnson was a classic combination of speed and power, with three seasons of 30 home runs and 30 stolen bases. Al Leiter, who grew up in New Jersey and has been rooting for the Mets, ranks in the top 10 in team history in wins and strikeouts. Mets fans are privileged. Getting two of baseball’s best players calling the action with years of Mets institutional knowledge.Gary Cohen is set to start his 35th year calling Mets games, and Howie Rose has been covering the team since 1987.In addition, we honor Jay Horowitz, who He has worked passionately for this organization for over 40 years, with a Hall of Fame Achievement Award. I look forward to celebrating more of Mets history on June 3.”

Johnson compiled three seasons of 30 home runs and 30 stolen bases (1987, 1989, and 1991), the most in team history. He became the first player to join the 30-30 club in major league history. Johnson was acquired on December 7, 1984 from the Tigers in exchange for RHP Walt Terrell. He was a two-time All-Star (1989, 1991) and a two-time Silver Slugger (1989, 1991). Johnson ranks in the top five in franchise history in home runs, doubles, RBI and stolen bases. A member of the 1986 championship team, Johnson finished in the Top 10 in MVP voting three times, including in 1991 when he led the National League in home runs (38) and RBI (117).

Leiter won double-digit games for seven straight years (1998-2004) with the Mets. The lefty ranks in the top ten in franchise history in wins, innings pitched, strikeouts and quality starts. He is best known for throwing two touchdowns in one game in Cincinnati’s playoff game in 1999. In 2002, he became the first pitcher to beat all 30 major league teams. Leiter was a two-time All-Star. He was honored by Major League Baseball with the Roberto Clemente Award and the Branch Rickey Award for his charitable efforts.

Cohen began calling Mets games on the radio in 1989, where he remained until moving to the SNY booth in 2006. He is the second longest serving Mets game play-by-play announcer in team history. Cohen, who grew up at Shea Stadium, was inducted into the New York State Baseball Hall of Fame in 2018. His signature “Outta Here” references the Mets’ home run. Cohen was a Dean’s List student at Columbia University.

Rose has been the Mets’ play-by-play voice since 1996, moving from television to the radio booth in 2004. He started with the Mets in 1987, hosting pre-game and post-game shows for Mets radio. Rose’s signature “Put it in the books” confirms the Mets win. He was inducted into the National Jewish Sports Hall of Fame and Museum in 2012. Rose was also inducted into the New York State Baseball Hall of Fame in 2019. Rose graduated from Cardozo High School in Bayside, Queens and was a fixture at Shea Stadium, later graduating from Queen’s College.

Want to bet on MLB?

See the best NJ Sports Betting Sites

Horowitz joined the Mets on April 1, 1980, as Director of Public Relations. He was later promoted to Vice President, Media Relations in 2001. Horowitz moved to his current position of Vice President, Alumni Relations and Team Historian on October 1, 2018. He was the recipient of the Fishel Award in 1998, given annually by MLB to the game’s top media relations employee baseball. BBWAA Honored Horowitz with its William J.

The other 30 Hall of Fame inductees, in order of the year they were elected, are: Joan Payson (1981); Casey Stengel (1981); Jill Hodges (1982); George M. Weiss (1982); Johnny Murphy (1983); William A. Shea (1983); Ralph Keener (1984); Bob Murphy (1984); Lindsey Nelson (1984); Bud Harrelson (1986); Rusty Staub (1986); Tom Seaver (1988); Jerry Koosman (1989); Ed Kranepole (1990); Cleon Jones (1991); Jerry Groote (1992); Tug McGraw (1993); Mookie Wilson (1996); Keith Hernandez (1997); Gary Carter (2001); Tommy Agee (2002); Frank Cashin (2010); Dwight Gooden (2010); Davey Johnson (2010), Daryl Strawberry (2010), John Franco (2012), Mike Piazza (2013), John Matlack (2020), Ron Darling (2020), and Edgardo Alfonzo (2020).

More MLB:

Mets pivot, sign fourth outfielder after Red Sox outfielder Adam Duvall (Update)

How much will it cost the Yankees to sign Harrison Bader to a contract extension?

Yankees, Mets lose free quarterback to Red Sox

Thank you for relying on us to provide journalism you can trust. Please consider supporting us by subscribing.

Bridget Hyland can be reached at [email protected].

%d bloggers like this: